Draft Speed Limit By Laws 2017 For Swinford

The draft speed limit by laws 2017 for Swinford have been published. The draft speed limit by laws for Mayo can be viewed at any council office’s during office hours. They will be available for inspection from Wednesday 16th November to Friday the 16th of December. Submissions and observations on the draft can be made up until Thursday the 22nd of December. The draft plan along with all the maps can be viewed online here.

Housing estates built by the local authority or built privately and Taken in charge by the local authority will have a speed limit of 30km/h. Private housing estates are not included in these Bye-Laws. A Built-up Area is defined by Section 2(1) of the Local Government Act 2001 as the area of a city, borough or town council within the meaning of the Act. For speed limits Section 5 of the Road Traffic Act 2004 sets a default speed limit of 50 km/h for ‘built-up-areas’. The abolition of Town Councils in 2014 has not affected the meaning, definition and scope of these built-up areas, thus the default speed limit for all roads within these areas remains 50km/h. For speed limits other than 50 km/h. In these areas, Special Speed Limits are required.

The layout of the speed limit Bye-Laws has also changed to try to have a similar appearancy countrywide. The proposed Bye-Laws are shown for each town and are displayed with the following legend;

  • 30km/hr Zone – Yellow
  • 50km/hr Zone – Orange
  • 50km/hr periodic – Orange dashed
  • 60km/hr Zone – Light Blue
  • 60km/hr periodic – Light Blue dashed
  • 80km/hr Zone – Red
  • 100km/hr Zone – Green

draft speed limit 2017

National Roads Speed Limits

draft speed limit for swinford 2017

Swinford Town Local Roads Speed Limits

draft speed limit by laws 2017 for swinford

View or download the full map here. 

Swinford Estates 30Km/h

housing estate speed limit sign

New housing estate speed limit signs.

As you may have seen in recent months, there has been new speed limit signs erected at some housing estates in Swinford. The new signs have been installed in estates which have been taken over by Mayo County Council.

  • Bollinbrooke Drive
  • Brabazon Heights
  • Fraun Hill
  • Gleann Darrach
  • Rathunus


Swinford Roads 50Km/h

  • Kiltimagh Rd
  • Kilkelly Rd
  • Park Rd
  • Old Castlebar Rd/Meelick Rd
  • Station Rd
  • St Ita’s Terrace and lane
  • O’Connor Place
  • Carrowbeg Rd
  • Riverside Rd
  • Brookville Rd
  • Rathscanlon Rd (Graveyard Rd)
  • Church View
  • Pound Lane
  • Newpark Industrial Estate
  • Cloonlara Rd (old Charlestown Rd)

The full schedule for all the municipal districts can be viewed online here.


Follow Us
Latest posts by Michael (see all)
Sponsored by BizSpace.ie